Sinha murder case: Rab presses charges against ex-OC Pradeep, 14 others

Sinha Md Rashed Khan
Rab today pressed charges against 15 people including former officer-in-charge of Teknaf Police Station Pradeep Kumar Das in the Major (retd) Sinha Rashed Khan murder case.

Senior ASP Mohammad Khairul Islam, investigation officer of the case, submitted the charge sheet before Judge Tamanna Farah of Cox’s Bazar Senior Judicial Magistrate Court-4 through the court inspector at 10:10am.

After a brief hearing, the court accepted the charge sheet.

Read more: Sinha murder pre-planned

Later, the senior ASP talked to journalists.

The charge sheeted accused also include Liaqat Ali, an inspector of the the police station, and sub-inspector Nandadulal Rakshit.

Other accused include three members of the Armed Police Battalion (APBn) — Assistant Sub-inspector Md Shahjahan and constables Razib and Md Abdullah.

Among the 15 accused, 13 are now in Cox’s Bazar jail while Pradeep is in Chattogram district jail. Another accused Sagar Dey, a police constable, is absconding.

Sinha was killed at an APBn check point on Cox’s Bazar-Teknaf highway on July 31.


Local police said Inspector Liaqat’s team had taken over the check point from the three APBn officers before the incident happened